The Tax Commissioner is responsible for the billing & collection of ad valorem taxes. Our goal is to provide our taxpayers with a web site that is easy to use, offering a wealth of information on any property in Thomas County.
Property taxes are due November 15th each year. We will honor mail that is postmarked by November 15th.
Delinquent property tax bill amounts change on the 16th of each month. Mobile Home penalties are added April 2nd each year.
Visit Georgia DRIVES for all your Online Vehicle Services
2020 County Holidays
New Year’s Day Wednesday January 1
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Monday January 20
Memorial Day Monday May 25
Independence Day Friday July 3 (Observed)
Labor Day Monday September 7
Thanksgiving** Thursday November 26
Christmas Eve Thursday December 24
Christmas Day Friday December 25
2021 New Year’s Day Friday January 1
**November 27, Friday, Mandatory Annual Leave
Ad Valorem Tax
The ad valorem tax, more commonly called property tax, is the primary source of revenue for local governments in Georgia. Ad valorem means "according to value."
The millage rate is a determining factor in the calculation of your taxes. (A mill is 1/10 of 1 cent or $1 per $1,000 of assessed value.) The millage rate multiplied by the 40% assessed value determines the amount of taxes you owe. All property taxes are calculated in the same way for home, auto and personal property.
The millage rate for state taxes is set by state law. The county Board of Commissioners sets the millage rate for county taxes, the county Board of Education sets the millage rate for county school taxes and the city authorities determine the rate for city taxes. Property tax collected by the local government is used to pay for the support of services provided by the County Board of Education, Thomas County and the State of Georgia.
The county Board of Tax Assessors, which is appointed by the county Board of Commissioners, assesses all property for tax purposes. Assessments are by law based upon 40% of the fair market value as of January 1 each year. This assessment is multiplied by the millage rate. If there is an increase in the assessment or the millage rate then there may be an increase in property taxes.
Property Taxes are Due November 15th of every year. PLEASE NOTE - FAILURE TO RECEIVE A BILL DOES NOT RELIEVE RESPONSIBILTY OF PAYING TAXES DUE.
The Tax Commissioner's Office is charged with enforcing the laws regarding revenue and taxation and collecting taxes from individuals or businesses that fail or refuse to pay. Most of the time delinquent tax matters can be satisfied with a simple letter or phone call, although from time to time, we must collect the delinquent taxes through a Levy and Tax Sale. Tax Sales are open to the public and function as a means of collecting delinquent taxes. The format of the sale is an auction type setting starting with a bid of the amount of taxes owed. Tax Sales are held on the first Tuesday of the month. Tax sale listings can be found in the Wednesday Edition of The Thomasville Times Enterprise Thomas County News four consecutive weeks prior to the sale. Tax Sales are conducted on the courthouse steps in Thomasville, Georgia. Our office coordinates tax sales on an "as needed" basis.
In Georgia property is assessed at 40% of the fair market value unless otherwise specified by law. (O.C.G.A. 48-5-7) Property is assessed at the county level. The State Revenue Commissioner is responsible for examining the tax digests of counties in Georgia in order to determine that property is assessed uniformly and equally between and within the counties. (O.C.G.A. 48-5-340)
The tax bills received by property owners will include both the fair market value and the assessed value of the property. Fair market value means "Arms Length bona fide sale- transaction carried out by unrelated or unaffiliated parties, as by a willing buyer and a willing seller, each acting in his or her own self-interest, including, but not limited to a distress sale, short sale, bank sale, or sale at public auction." (O.C.G.A. 48-5-2)
Property owners that do not agree with the appraised value on their tax bill can file an appeal with the Board of Assessors. (O.C.G.A. 48-5-311) If no agreement is reached, the appeal is automatically forwarded to the Board of Equalization.
The purpose of this page is to answer questions and provide general information to the public on taxation in Thomas County, Georgia. This page does not necessarily cover every aspect of property taxation and should not be relied upon as a legal source of information. Please refer to the specified code sections for specific limitations. The Department of Revenue website contains a non-annotated version of the official code of Georgia.
Equipment, Machinery, and Fixtures
Equipment, machinery, and fixtures are assessed at 40 percent of fair market value. The tax assessor may value the equipment, machinery, and fixtures of a going business to reflect the fair market value of the business as a whole. When no ready market exists for the sale of equipment, machinery, and fixtures, a fair market value may be determined by resorting to any reasonable, relevant, and useful information available. This information may include, but is not limited to, the original cost of the property, depreciation or obsolescence, and any increase in value by reason of inflation.
Exemptions can typically be defined as a portion of the assessed value that will be free of taxation.
The deadline for filing an application for a homestead exemption in Thomas County is April 1. Application for homestead exemption is made with the Tax Assessor’s office. Failure to apply by the deadline will result in loss of the exemption for that year. Beginning July 1, 2005 application for homestead exemption may be submitted any time during the year but must be received before April 1 of the taxable year to qualify for the exemption that year. If received after April 1, the tax assessor will activate the exemption the following year.
The State of Georgia offers homestead exemptions to persons that own and occupy their home as a primary residence. Thomas County offers homestead exemptions that are more beneficial to the taxpayer than the exemptions offered by the State. For information concerning local homestead exemptions contact the Tax Assessor's Office. The homestead exemption is deducted from the assessed value (40% of the fair market value) of the home. Then the mill rate is applied to arrive at the amount of ad valorem tax due.
Personal Property includes boats and motors, tractors, farm equipment, and machinery. If you own a business, furniture, fixtures, equipment, inventory, and supplies are considered personal property. Ownership of personal property is established January 1 of each year. Personal property tax returns (PT-50p) are to be filled annually with the Board of Assessors without regard to change in value or use. This deadline is April 1.
Property Tax Returns
Property tax returns for real estate must be filed with the County Tax Assessor between January 1 and April 1 of each year where property has changed or been acquired. The taxpayer may elect not to file a property tax return if they have no changes that would affect the value of their property from the previous year. Failure to file a required return will subject the taxpayer to a 10% penalty on the value of the property not returned plus interest and possibly penalties from the date the tax would have been due.
Standing timber is not taxed until sold or harvested, at which time it is taxed based upon 100 percent of its fair market value. This value is then multiplied by the appropriate mill rate to determine the tax amount due.
All timber harvests or sales must be reported in the county where the timber was grown to either the Tax Commissioner's or the Tax Assessors' Office, depending on the type of transaction. The tax is paid to the Tax Commissioner of that county.
Barwick, Boston, Coolidge, Meigs, Ochlocknee, Pavo, and Thomasville collect their own city taxes. For tax information, contact the city tax department directly at the following phone numbers:
- Barwick - (229) 735-2311
- Boston - (229) 498-6743
- Coolidge - (229) 346-3551
- Meigs - (229) 683-3124
- Ochlocknee - (229) 574-5188
- Pavo - (229) 859-2110
- Thomasville - (229) 227-7000
For more information or questions about billing and collection of property taxes, please contact the office of Thomas County Tax Commissioner. For more information or questions about property values, please contact the County Tax Assessor's Office.
The Tax Commissioner is responsible for the registration of motor vehicles and the collection of all registration fees, taxes and penalties specified by Georgia law. Ad valorem taxes, if due, are collected when the vehicle is registered.
Please note that vehicles new to the State and newly acquired vehicles must be registered within 30 days of the day you move to Georgia or the day you purchase the vehicle, respectively.
Out-of-state tags expire 30 days after you move to Georgia, regardless of the date shown on the tag. Only two exceptions: non-resident military personnel and full-time college students.
Vehicle owners must renew their registration and pay the ad valorem tax every year during the 30-day period, which ends on their birthday. If the vehicle is owned by more than one person, then the birthday of the person's name that appears first on the title is used to determine the registration period. Newly acquired vehicles must be registered within 30 days from the date of purchase.
It is the vehicle owner's responsibility to insure their vehicle is properly registered.
RENEW YOUR TAG ONLINE
For all other online tag, registration and related services, visit https://eservices.drives.ga.gov
Renew your tags by phone at 770-528-TAGS (8247)
A Georgia driver's license is required as personal identification when you title or register or make other changes to your account. Georgia Department of Revenue Motor Vehicle Division uses the Georgia driver's license number as an account number so that all vehicles owned or leased by an individual can be consolidated in one account.
Title Ad Valorem Tax Calculator
Vehicles purchased on or after March 1, 2013 and titled in Georgia will be exempt from sales and use tax and the annual ad valorem tax. Instead, these vehicles will be subject to a new, one-time title ad valorem tax that is based on the value of the vehicle. Estimate TAVT
Motor Vehicle Forms
For a full list of Motor Vehicle forms, visit the Georgia Department of Revenue.
Drivers License Information
Contact the Georgia Department of Driver Services for driver's license information at www.dds.ga.gov
Mobile Home Permits
Every year the owner of a mobile home must pay taxes, obtain and prominently display a Thomas County decal (location permit). Ad valorem taxes are assessed on January 1 of each year for mobile homes. Mobile home tax bills are mailed on or about January 30 each year and are delinquent if not paid on or before April 1. A fee of 10% and $25.00 penalty will be added after April 1 on the unpaid balance.
Owners of mobile homes that are located in Thomas County on January 1 must return the mobile home for taxation to the Tax Commissioner on or before Aprl 1 of each year at the same time they apply for the location permit. Failure to file the required return will result in a 10% tax penalty.
It should be noted that there are two opportunities for a mobile/modular homeowner to appeal their valuation, one is during the return period and the other is within 45 days of when the bill is mailed. Bills for mobile/modular homes in Thomas County are usually mailed January 2.
A Move Permit is required by law and must be obtained before a mobile home can be moved into the county, to another location within Thomas County (lot to lot), moved out of the county or state, dismantled, to an impound lot or land fill.
The new owner of a mobile home must obtain a title to the home in their name within 30 days of purchase. Titles are processed at the Thomas County Tag Office. You must provide a current paid tax receipt and proof of ownership before your title application will be processed. If there is a lien on the mobile home, most lien holders will apply for the new title.
225 N. Broad St
Thomasville, GA 31792
P.O. Box 2175
Thomasville, GA 31799
Hrs: 8am-5pm, M-F
For address changes please call 229-225-4136
For specific information or questions, please contact the county directly at number(s) above.
For PAYMENT assistance:
or Send Email
* = Required